Artist of the Month: Roxanne Patruznick (Interview, Pt. 4)

Gummy Reflection by Roxanne Patruznick

                               Gummy Reflection by Roxanne Patruznick

What pieces of your identity do you transfer into your art?

In my candy and toy series I hope the part of me that comes through is my sense of humor and love of storytelling. Everything I create has some part of me in it whether it’s funny or serious or strange. Everything is a self-portrait.

Slain Gummy by Roxanne Patruznick

                                   Slain Gummy by Roxanne Patruznick

****
Roxanne’s Bio:

” I was raised in Los Angeles and have been making art since I was a kid, always drawing, painting, and making up stories.  My influences derive not just from fine art, but from such diverse areas as film, music and performance. 

I attended California Institute for the Arts for animation and worked in the animation field for a number of years.  Animation proved to be a continuation of my education in drawing and design, while at the same time influencing the craft and narrative in my paintings.”

See more of her work HERE.

Leave a comment